SHINE: Mary D.

Mary D. is the author of the fantastic iblogbeauty.com (with perfect web traffic) that already appeared in several glosses all over the world, very influential and well known in her Make-up Monday and detailed review on beauty products. I have known her from Imee Li through Twitter, since then her blog became my daily dose of my everyday read 🙂

********************************

I am a beauty junkie currently residing in Toronto, Canada. My obsession with makeup and skincare started at a very young age and was, for better or worse, nurtured by my like-minded aunts.

I’d have to say that of the two (makeup and skincare), skincare is my passion for I truly believe that good skin is the best canvas for makeup. I obsess day in and day out about sun exposure and sunblock/sunscreen much to the chagrin of my loving bf. And I know I’ll sound like a broken record, but it really is so important to take care of your skin. Prevention is a million times better than correction.

This blog allows me to write about my obsession as well as share tips and information with other beauty junkies out there. Also, it helps ease the my bf’s pain from having to hear me talk about it 24/7 haha 🙂

Moving on, those are the products that I use on my face. I am constantly changing my skincare products because I find that my skin plateaus no matter how good one product is. That said, there are still a few mainstays in my routine that I’ll get even if it’ll go untouched for at least a couple of weeks.

Every morning I use Cetaphil or just plain ol’ water to cleanse my face — it really depends on how lazy I am feeling that morning. While my skin is still damp, I immediately apply one pump of Lancôme’s Génifique serum and allow it to sink in. Of course, moisturizer and eye cream follow. Right now I alternate between my beloved Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream and a couple of oils. My current favourite skin oil is a toss up between the Argan Oil and Avocado Oil. Coconut Oil takes second place and Sweet Almond Oil takes last place just because it is SO damn– I mean darn! (ahem, Doug/Polly/Maddy’s mom, ahem)– thick.

I never let too much time pass before applying sunscreen (a must even on dark and cloudy days!) because I find that my skin doesn’t feel so dry after. Lancôme’s Bienfait UV SPF 50 and Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Liquid Sunblock SPF 70 are what I use to protect my skin from the sun, but I have to say that Neutrogena is WAY better. It feels lighter on the skin and on the wallet at only US $10 a pop!

At night, I use Shu Uemura’s Cleansing Oil to take off all the gunk and environmental pollution that have accumulated on my skin, but I have also tried using natural oils and, truthfully, there really isn’t much of a difference, except the former costs 1 million times more! Well, ok, not really, but you get the idea. Every few nights or so, I exfoliate with Kiehl’s Epidermal Re-texturizing Micro-Dermabrasion.

I will sometimes use Clinique’s Clarifying Lotion if I feel like my skin needs a little more cleaning. Then, I apply some Génifique again and follow it with either Kiehl’s, or an oil. When I feel like being wild, I use Weleda’s Wild Rose Night Smoothing Cream. Ha, get it?!

*******

Visit her blog and get inspired: iblogbeauty.com

Leave a Reply

