Sunday’s Best: Chic-Boy

I will add Sunday’s Best like Shine entries on my random blog πŸ™‚ I always look forward to Sundays since I grew up celebrating Sundays with my Lolo Dad. He always make it special and it always starts with a Mass in Sto. Domingo, where I was baptized, then go malling and hit our favorite store: National Boosktore πŸ™‚ followed by fine dining. I also remember back then, that in our home, my grandma will always cook the very best during Sundays!

It’s very weird because why “Sunday” can be just like an ordinary weeks days πŸ™‚ Anyway, I just love my family and how they made my Sunday very special and will carry it on my heart forever.

Moving on, most of my Sundays were spent with my husband, family and sometimes with friends in special occasions. Yesterday, after my husband bonded with his friends early morning because of “car” stuff. We had a yummy lunch at “Chic-Boy” short for Chicken at Baboy, it’s not as fancy as you think, but some of my common friends are raving about it! can’t help but try…I asked my husband to take me there for our lunch date and it is just as simple like Mang Inasal. I even thought if the owner of Mang Inasal is also the owner of Chic-Boy because the set-up is just the same.

Chic-Boy branch located at Roosevelt

There is much better Chic-Boy branch where you can have a spacious parking lot, we just got lost somewhere in west avenue finding Chic-Boy, so we opted to go in Roosevelt. Heck, we braved the limited parking lot and just go with it πŸ™‚

Condiments similar to Mang Inasal πŸ™‚

My partner πŸ™‚

Unlimited Iced Tea for only Php 25.00

Specialty: Cebu Lechon Manok (Half Php 120.00)

It’s juicy but somehow failed to my taste. I just don’t know why it seems like ordinary to me 😦 compared to Mang Inasal, there’s a certain taste that will make you come back again and again.

Specialty: Cebu Lechon Liempo (Php 160.00)

Again, it failed to tickle my taste buds 😦 It is not as crispy and presentable as I expected from what I saw in food reviews at blogosphere, even in Chic-Boy’s official website. I am just being plain honest here…

Side Order: Enseladang Mangga (Php 25.00)

This is my favorite! the bagoong isn’t bad at all πŸ™‚

Side Order: Inihaw na talong at bagoong (Php 25.00)

All side orders are affordable. Even though the best sellers failed to impress me, I am just happy that my husband loved it. He ate 2 servings of rice during the meal! while I finished a half cup of it πŸ™‚

Not bad for tasting all the best seller in one seating πŸ™‚

After the “late-lunch-date” we watched an old school movie “Maid in Manhattan” which made me feel kilig and somehow teary-eyes kase naman I am a movie junkie and super emote ako when watching one :), I miss the good old days and I just love how simple things can make me and my husband happy. It’s marriage, you work for it in daily basis… inspiring one another and cherish every moment of it. It might not be bed of roses, but in the end of the day… I can’t help but be thankful for the unconditional love and bear hugs that he gives to me. US: It’s a lifetime commitment that I will always treasure…

Happy week ahead people ❀

Make love not war!

4 thoughts on “Sunday’s Best: Chic-Boy

  1. I agree with you, nothing so special with the food of Chicboy.. The brand is just too hyped up, I ate there for the first time last week and my experience was far from all the fuss about Chicboy.. And you’re right, Chicboy seems to copy Mang Inasal but honestly super layo the taste.. At the end of the day, mas masarap parin ang Mang Inasal. Yumm! πŸ™‚ Bigla akong nagutom…hehehe :))

  2. Hi Rodriguez, thank you for the comment πŸ™‚

    I just discovered that it was the former owner of Mang Inasal who owns Chicboy kaya pareho ng set-up… super nagtataka kasi ako haha. Ayan na find out ko tuloy! WIll make more reviews pa sa iba pang makakainan ko, and hope it will be a help!

  3. hello, sorry to butt in sa conversation nyo..can’t help but correct the aformentioned comment. πŸ™‚ hindi po same owner yan..wrong info yan.. sure na sure kasi my friend franchised a chic-boy branch in QC and actually grabe ang problema nya.. this restaurant kasi is just too overrated..our group also thought of franchising..buti nalang we did more research and we realized that it already shows so many symptoms na this is just a fad.. our former prof in college also told us na baka franchising scam nga to kasi 2010 nagstart, 2010 din nagpa franchise.. the first n only sa philippines.. di pa nga proven ang brand eh..hay franchise fee malamang ang habol..kawawa ang friend ko..at buti nlng di kami nasama sa na-victim ng fad na to… 😦 and true, the food kasi is not worth raving dn eh.. nothing special..just a typical food stall..

  4. @drew- oh I see, chika lang ng friend ko yun =)

    eep really ang chic-boy?! expose yan! that is so sad, your friend is trying to make a living tapos ganyan pa– chic boy ha!

Leave a Reply

