Personal Favourites

Hi everyone!

Dependent

Finding the right shade of powder/concealer/corrector/ foundation for your skin is the hardest adventure in make-up world but once you have it, its all worth it and fun!

 

But I must say, lucky for those people who have very dry skin as they can skip applying powder on the face but I guess everyone just needs powder to conceal some impurities. When choosing the right foundation/powder you have to consider the color, texture and tools. Also, don’t forget that EXPERIMENTATION is usually needed to achieve the desired results.

Excerpt from Bobby Brown Make-up manual: (Advice for Oily Skin)

Oily skin can turn powder yellow or orange with time. Sometimes you have to choose a lighter color.

(my take: very true, I also have an acidic skin so it is so hard to choose the right powder.foundation and concealer but I am so happy I am over with the process and found my match)

To avoid powder build up on oily skin , use an oil-blotting paper before touching up.

(my take: very true! I use Gatsby)

***

I am sharing you my must have face powder that never fails me 🙂

Skin type: Oily/Acidic/Acne prone with visible pores eww (that I can take medication, but oily? acidic? blech)

Skin colour: Yellowish/Fair

1. M.A.C Studio in NC35

I seldom use liquid foundation so I find this one as an all around make-up- all in one-step application of foundation and powder. Gives skin a smooth, flawless, all-matte, full-coverage finish. Long-wearing: lasts for up to eight hours.

trick: If you feel your skin is oily, don’t forget to use a blotting paper first even you have a blotting paper. Based on my experience, it really piles up and turn cakey.

2. M.A.C Pressed in Select Sheer NC30

If I want more lighter application of powder for everyday use, I opt for pressed. I also use In2it foundation for everyday use, depends on my mood and place to go.

The finish is matte but doesn’t last long, I wonder why? Since Studio Fix does. I don’t think this is a blot powder at all as they say, because it made me look like wearing a heavy make-up when I applied all over and over. I guess it really       depends on skin type.

(side note: because of my skin type,I don’t recommend this for blotting. Still use blotting paper 🙂 )

3. M.A.C Studio Tech in NC37

This shade is more darker than my skin tone and I use this to highlight my facial features. It is heavy on the skin and only good for parties and other special occasions. Not to forget, good for Ber months only 🙂 I love the consistency it’s so creamy and goes on really smooth with use of  stippling brush. Plus it is good for Photo ops!

(side note: you can’t use it alone. You have to blend it with foundation or powder and as much as possible don’t touch your face too much after application specially for those who have oily skin like me. With right application this will not go cakey and make you look like a zombie.)

That’s all! Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

