Movie Junkie

Hi everyone!

What: Politically inclined movies

I think I am a professional hobbyist 🙂 lol, aside from interest in yoga, collecting books & comic books, beauty tools and occasionally book scrapping… I committed my self to spare time watching movies since high school. It gives me ideas and makes me feel good and at the same time – something to talk about with friends and family.

I have a vast collection of vcd and dvds before I even met my husband and now, we owned a wonderful collection of movies and share the same interest. Most of our copies are original and dibidi-from-somewhere-out-there. It’s a quiet time for both of us<3

Anyway, here’s my top picks this month of February 2012:

A Clint Eastwood Picture

I love Clint Eastwood pictures as well as Leonardo Dicaprio. His choice of roles always caught my attention. I am fond of biographies even in books,documentaries (The Kennedy’s)  and historical drama films aside from comedy/romance/horror.  This one made me cry! yeah, a politically inclined movie.

It’s an interesting movie about power and sexuality. I like his standards in finding employee for his office: Education, Physically fit and loyalty. Like him, I highly value Education and mostly, Loyalty. You can’t find that easily nowadays and I am glad that God blessed me with few loyal friends (likewise to them) whom I know like the back of my hand and that includes my husband.

Well, talk about sexuality. I think it doesn’t matter if you’re straight or gay. As long as true love, loyalty and respect exist, there’s nothing wrong with it. That’s why I invest more in relationships as I always say 🙂

My favorite actress: Meryl Streep

I fell in love with her movie together with Clint Eastwood called The Bridges of Madison County. How I wish I can have that copy in DVD, mine was only a VHS and it is so yesterday! Grabe, pang famas lang ang iyak ko sa movie na yun.

Who doesn’t want woman empowerment movie? 🙂 Oh well, I hope Meryl will win an award from this film. She’s an amazing actress in every film she makes. About this movie: so-so. Maybe it’s not good to watch all politically inclined movie in one day! yay.

“One of the great problems of our age is that we’re governed by people who care more about feelings than they do about thoughts and ideas,” says Margaret Thatcher in The Iron Lady. “Now, thoughts and ideas – that’s what interests me.”

The Ides of March

Now I am being biased. I pick this movie not because of the genre but because of my crush: George Clooney. Man, how can someone like him really exist! His film might be good or bad but what I like the most is: Ocean Thirteen. Great movie, funny and smart.

This Ides of March is an American political drama film which is also directed by George Clooney himself (Beauty and brains, ikaw na kuya!) it’s about ambition seduces power corrupts. About an idealistic staffer (Ryan Gosling) for a newbie presidentila candidate that gets a crash course on dirty politics during his stint on the campaign trail.

(Oh I remember my days during presidential campaign, 2010)

To wrap things up, if you have time to spare (as in) try to watch J. Edgar. It might bore you a little but I think its worth the time.

That’s all!

Leave a Reply

