more about my Style & Beauty

Old glamor style of 50's

(an excerpt from interview guide that has been published for stylish bloggers, it was truly a compliment for me as a beauty blogger to be considered as one, will send the link soon!)

Tell us about your personal style: feminine, classic, and understated and definitely an expression of who I am.

What are your favorite shops: I am more of a beauty junkie than fashionista, but I love Tyler, The ramp, La Senza, Zara, Dorothy Perkins, Warehouse, Missy (Bayo) and 7 for all mankind. How I wish I am more in love with local brands aside from Tyler and The ramp, but as a “plump” pinay I accepted the fact that most of large sized clothes from local brands doesn’t fit me and hello for “free size craze“. Fit is so “important”, you might caught yourself falling in love with a dress but  no matter how nice it looks on the rack, if it doesn’t flatter you well, let it go. I learned what worked for me and what didn’t.

Style Icons: Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Jackie O, Queen Rania of Jordan and Ivanka Trump. For modern day, I am so into- Sex and the City and Mad Men clothing. Simply, ravishing.


Things you don’t leave the house without:

1. Make up Bag (Sephora)

I must admit, I can’t go outside with bare face except when I am working out. With my make up bag, there’s a wet tissue.

2. Wallet

Never leave the house without extra cash even it’s only Php 100 or Php 50. I learned my lesson in a hard way! Inside: Wallet size wedding photo, ATM (I don’t own credit card-ever, it’s dangerous to your health) Identification Card (in case I get lost lol) and I am proud owner of Tom’s World fun card.

3.Notebook and Pen

I love writing to-do list in a busy day, jotting down notes in a business meeting and writing inspiring words.

4.Hand lotion

I am currently in love with heathcote and Ivory country blossom hand lotion and coco Chanel. Both are great hand lotion and I love smooth hands and smell good all the time.

5. Alcohol

For sanitation purposes

6.Rosary

I feel much closer to Him

7.Cell phone

But I don’t bring one during family day, same goes with my husband when we are dating. It’s one of our marital rules

8.Ipod

My Jurassic Ipod that I earned during my stay at the Senate under Sen. Villar. It has a sentimental value because I asked for an autograph personally. It was 2 years ago, I can’t hardly see the ink boo hoo.

9.Perfume

I don’t bring huge bottles of perfume that’s why I also buy smaller version of my signature scents.

Make up essentials:

My easy to reach beauty counter!

updated makeup essentials

Kiehl’s Blue Herbal Toner– I have an oily, acidic and acne prone skin. I know right, it’s a fight for ages… but since I used a toner before applying make-up, I have an occasional attack of oiliness which I only retouch once. Hurrah!

Dr. Feelgood primer of Benefit– This makes my make up stay longer for more than 8 hours.

Benefit Bella Bamba Blush– gives a natural glow on my skin same goes with my old time favorite NARS orgasm.

Studio MAC fix in NC35–  My trusted foundation powder. Sometimes I still applied it using wet sponge to make it more visible, I swear it still works, like the good ‘ol times for makeup application style.

Lipstick- MAC Brave (Satin- Nude pink) my all around lipstick but if I feel more adventurous or lazy to apply makeup, I go for MAC Russian red (matte). It really gives life to my boring skin in an instant! I skip any lip conditioner when applying lipstick, it works well on me.

Benefit Mascara– Who doesn’t want more flirty eyes?

Shu Uemura eyelash curler– cult favorite and mine too. It doesn’t cut my lashes or pulled plus “parang tinupi” na eyelashes look.

Stila Bronzer- for contouring.

The magical makeup for brows!

Benefit Browzings in Medium– My partner in crime to have that beautiful eyebrows well defined. The kit has brow wax for setting and brow powder to fill in all gaps in the brow hair plus it has a compact mirror, two small brushes and a tweezers.

MAC Brow set in Girl Boy- Also a partner in crime when I want to have a softer look when using a bright colour lipstick. It’s a cult favorite and a must have! This is a no-brainer product.

Make up brushes- I have 3 sets of makeup brushes, 1st  is an easy to reach set from vanity desk (as seen on picture), 2nd brushes that I used occasionally in train case  and 3rd MAC 217 and MAC116 my all around makeup brush that I always carry with me.

I really invest in good quality brushes, it might be a little expensive but it will last for 8 years with proper care. I have brush guards for extra protection and to make it stay in shape.

Brushes make all the difference in makeup application.

 

Diet tips:

I am in a yo-yo diet for years but as for my advice, don’t take diet pills especially the one that you can’t understand in Chinese or unfamiliar alphabet and wrong grammar instructions. I’ve been there done that, and it has taken its toll on me. Don’t even skip meals and avoid sodas if you can.

Take diet as a serious lifestyle change and stick with it not because you want to be a skinny bitch. It’s more mental challenge, because if you will starve yourself to death and go back to your bad eating habit again, it’s useless and will make you sick.

Right now, I am taking the natural way with Doctor’s advice and its effective, slowly but surely because I am not healthy anymore:

Portions of food:

  • ·         Vegetable – size of your fist
  • ·         Pork/beef/white meat- size of your palm
  • ·         Rice/Potato/Pasta/bread- ¼ or none at all. It’s safer for adults to totally avoid rice in take as per my Doctor.

I don’t eat pork & beef anymore, 4 months and counting. I don’t drink soda, coffee and any kind of juice. If I really want to drink something aside from water, I’ll have Passion Red Tea from Starbucks once a week or a month. My sugar in take is limited and only if needed. I don’t use much oil when cooking so thank you to Non stick pans. If you need oil, use coconut or soya. I rarely eat junk food and if I do, it’s only Cheetos.

Just make sure you don’t starve yourself and move, have small 6 meals in a day, instead of bigger one, hit to gym or jog for 30 minutes, it doesn’t matter if you can only do it once a week, again make it a lifestyle.

One more, “Think French” I love Parisian vanity, they love to walk! So, the tamad-to-walk that I am, I remind myself “Think French

These changes are good for a lifetime and not a short term commitment.

Note: I used to weigh 150 pounds (height 5’1) and lose 30 pounds after 2 months in year 2007. I gained it all again because of unhealthy lifestyle and now my body is different due to age. 4 months ago, I was 160 pounds and now I am weighing 140 pounds. (no diet pills and crazy work out) My goal is 120 for healthier me. No insane cravings and I thank my Doctor for that!

A lady must remember that:

In style: Don’t follow trends just to conform, dress according to your body type, comfort and your personality.

note: words and photograph by me. Please don’t steal!

9 thoughts on “more about my Style & Beauty

  1. Hi mariqia, I used to 🙂 angled, round and square sponges, until I met and love make up brushes. The coverage is much better, but sometimes I still use angled sponges to make sure all is covered. (e.g. below eyelids, nose and hair line) then I dispose it after use. I started with sponges even ang mga baklang make up artist na nagm-make up sa skin nung bata pa ako hehe 😀 may basa pa sa tubig effect! now I’m using MAC fix+ , di na tubig hahaha!

    here’s mac fix + http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/177/388/Fix/index.tmpl

  2. @mariqia, wow what are you using? You can own one or more for sure. My first MAC brush is 116. I use it as my powder foundation & blush ❤ at first I was sweating hard because I can't accept the fact that it is pricey for one brush… after meditation and convincing my self na reward ko yun every time I buy, My heart is at ease. It grows as time goes by!

    also, if I am not an acne oily kinda gal, I might stick to sponges… kaso ewan ko ba sa balat ko hahah!

  3. @chel That’s why i love high heels shoes hahaha! Yup, you can lose it, just be patient, don’t hurry. Mabagal naman bumalik ang katabaan pag talagang proper diet. When I hit 120 pounds in a strict diet/exercise. It took years kasi I am pasaway, I eat everything I see 🙂

    Once you are sanay na in 6 small meals a day and avoiding sugar/salt, di na siya hahanapin ng katawan mo. Ikaw pa mapapagod sa 6 small meals a day. You can have rice but choose only what time of the day you’ll eat. (It’s either brekky, lunch or dinner) takalin mo 🙂 1 cup. You’ll get used to it! Cheers for our success!

Leave a Reply

