Ramp Model: A plus size story

Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent

That has been always my favorite motivational quote whenever I am doing something new in my life- that needs more a little push to make my self more confident. Detractors or haters will be always present and sometimes being a fat is like a disease to 101% vain people. How you get back to them? simple: Be more confident to your skin, be better and show more success in every aspect of ze life!

Ramp Modeling for I love koi (plus size) designed by Plump Pinay

Never did I imagine that I’ll do something like this! Thanks to my unhealthy obsession in makeup, skincare products and sporting fotd plus mega-emote on photos which I love to share to all of you and I guess, nag benefit ng husto ang aking hobby, para laging photo ready sa fb uploads and opprotunities like you-know-kakalowka-lang haha! πŸ™‚

note: I started to get serious taking care of my skin when I started working in PR world because of meetings, events and photo ops to be published in newspapers and magazines.

***

Come magical Thursday 4/19… all the modeling stint was scheduled on that day. I attended a photo shoot in the morning then had a simple lunch with my friends at PMFTC Inc. where I used to work as a PR Executive and headed to my biggest event in my entire life: Ramp modeling for grand launch of I love Koi swimwear. (oh man, from former political staff, PR executive and now presently a teacherΒ  + homemaker… now to do modeling for plus size babe? such a dream *twinkling eyes*)

So, you’re wondering paano ang ganap? first, I am not connected to any modeling agency nor had a professional experience for modeling and I don’t even have a set card. During my spare time in the cyber world, sometimes I wonder, what if I send my *emo* photos just for fun? for sure I’ll laugh hardcore if someone will get me. Boom* it happened! couple of months ago someone called me for a go-see and got the slot. I can super emote in the photos than in person (obviously) because I am still 80% shy.

In photo: Stacy and Danah of Plump PinayΒ  ROCKING THE RUNWAY AS DESIGNERS!

Then, just the other day… I saw plump pinay posting that they need a model for plus size. I’ve been a fan of plump pinay because they stay true to their advocacy which is to be REALLY comfortable in your own skin. I e-mailed them my *emo* photos and sent them a message. I don’t even know what kind of clothing that I will be sporting and what kind of event, until they informed me! drum rolls*** swimwear.

Prep time

Hair and Makeup by Benefit πŸ™‚ lovet!

The Prive Luxury Club, Stage Ramp πŸ™‚

Venue: The Prive Luxury Club at Fort Strip

I honestly don’t wear swimsuit alone, never in my adulthood. I don’t even wear sleeveless because I am uncomfortable with my arms and other bulging parts. Duh, I even own different kinds of spanx baby! hee hee πŸ™‚ anyway,Β  I didn’t think twice saying yes to this event. I even said to Stacy of plump pinay, if I showed up in showroom and not qualified upon fitting, I am arms-wide open in rejection. Parang top ten lang yan sa beauty pageant, okay na ang ma top 10 kahit wala na ang korona. Satisfied na ko πŸ™‚ then Stacy replied: Ikaw na napili namin!!! just be fierce on the runaways ha. Attitude πŸ™‚

Plump Pinay Models for I love koi: (L-R) Ja Gonzales, Cacai, Cristina and moi πŸ™‚

With Ja Gonzales

Rehearsal

Rehearsing the finale with all sexyyy models of I love koi πŸ™‚

With that being said, I totally wrapped up my work and went to showroom for fitting. I am totally ready for this, if not now.. when? I just want to make it grandiose πŸ™‚

L-R: Lace and Jade (owner of I love koi)
Lace welcomed me and in just 5 minutes of fitting…we’re done! She loved the swimsuit on me and I love the honesty πŸ™‚ (Even on the set, lace and jade is very hands on in every thing! nice πŸ™‚ )

A great figure or physique is nice, but it's self-confidence that makes someone really sexy!

It has been a hassle free and lovely day. As I went home, I was so excited and called my husband, my family and close friends informing them about the ramp. They were all excited and supportive. I am glad that I have a friend who is a professional model named Jackie Go. She is also a blogger that focusing in fashion and motherhood. I asked for her helpful tips during wee hours and the day of the event. I read her message over and over again and wrote it on my mini notebook. It’s a great confidence booster from time to time. I am so lucky to get tips from her!

Since it’s my first time to ramp, I asked my sister, brother, my bes Mylene and my guy best friend who is totally my personal photographer πŸ™‚ to watch me.

Thanks to Christian Amiel Tira for photos (personal photographer)

My sister Michelle and baby brother Gil πŸ™‚

I told my husband that I can’t let him watch because I had an experienced that I really get stoned when I see him around. As in nawawala ako sa eksena haha! like, during my graduation speech… when I looked at him, na waley ako sa speech ko. Same thing with my theatrical shows way back in College :). I told him that, he can watch on my next gig instead. He was truly supportive and happy for me. He even told me to tag him on facebook when I didn’t do it. I was a bit hesitant, praning that his friends will laugh on him. But man, he is damn proud! so, yeah… I feel more sexy than ever.

moi in less than a minute of fame in the flesh πŸ˜€

I also had opportunity to meet new friends who is more experienced in modeling. They are so nice, fun, very pretty and tall. Then the magic question popped up: how old are? most answers are, 17, 19 20 but not more than 24ish.. without hesitation I answered 27 πŸ™‚

Cool gals!

SEE!!! so girls who are even near at the big 3-0!Β  Beauty is forever.

Life is too short to have our souls be eaten away with resentment! enjoy life πŸ™‚ celebrate and whatever you do always try and give your best, work as hard as you can and try to spread generosity of spirit!

with Stacy

Thank you so much for the great opportunity, Danah and Stacy of Plump Pinay and I love koi. This is the most memorable night of my 27th year! Just looking at you guys motivates me that I can do so much more and the make me feel more comfortableΒ  and realized that as a plump lady: the most important ingredient in happiness within self is self-esteem: the knowledge that it is good to be what you are. Opening my heart to possibilities like this because in the end of the day; there is nothing to lose.

Cheers to Plump Pinay!

Acknowledgement:

Benefit Cosmetics Philippines

I love koi

I love koi stylists

The Plump Pinay

8 thoughts on “Ramp Model: A plus size story

  1. Wow! I’m so happy for you. And you’re wearing my desired swimwear! I can’t wait to see the designs in the mall. Too bad, I just heard about the fashion show. I’m just a few tumblings away from Eastwood Mall. Sayang talaga!

Leave a Reply

